Tuesday, 14 May, 2024

Unmanned cargo spacecraft docks with space station module



The cargo spacecraft transported propellants, application experiments samples, some payloads and supplies for three astronauts.

A Long March-7 Y5 rocket carrying Tianzhou-4 cargo spacecraft, with supplies for the Chinese space station under construction, takes off from the Wenchang Spacecraft Launch Site in Hainan province, China May 10, 2022.
A Long March-7 Y5 rocket carrying Tianzhou-4 cargo spacecraft, with supplies for the Chinese space station under construction, takes off from the Wenchang Spacecraft Launch Site in Hainan province, China May 10, 2022. (Reuters)

An unmanned Chinese cargospacecraft has successfully docked with an orbiting space stationmodule in the sixth of 11 missions needed to finishbuilding China's first space station by the end of the year.

A Long March-7 rocket carrying the Tianzhou-4 spacecraftblasted off at 1:56 a.m. Beijing time (1756 GMT Monday) from theWenchang Space Launch Center in southern Hainan province.

Tianzhou-4 docked with Tianhe, the core module of the spacestation, at 8:54 a.m. Beijing time (0054 GMT), China MannedSpace Agency said on Tuesday.

READ MORE:China says launch of key new space rocket 'successful'

The cargo spacecraft transported propellants, applicationexperiments samples, some payloads and supplies for threeastronauts, the agency said.

Three astronauts will travel to Tianhe in June on theShenzhou-14 spacecraft and live and work onboard the module forsix months.

China aims to complete the construction of its first space station this year, being a key rival of the world's only station – NASA's International Space Station.

READ MORE: Turkey succeeds in testing hybrid rocket engine for the moon landing

0 comments on “Unmanned cargo spacecraft docks with space station module

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *